These are a few of my favourite things.

In Public Relations, we are constantly being told about the importance of social media. Twitter, Facebook, blogs like this one – they are all important parts of representing yourself or your company online, building your own online brand. But there are those sweet, sacred times when updating your own social media turns into looking at what everyone else does. Whether I’m finding inspiration from the tweets of others, or trolling the internet for new Tumblr ideas, getting inspiration from others is a big part of what I do to involve myself in social media. As my Social Media professor, Andrea Tavchar always says, “you have to listen to the conversation, before you can join it.”

So in honour of the role social media plays in my life, I thought that should share some of my favourite sources of inspiration, time wasting, and envy.

The first thing I want to do when I’ve moved into a new house, like my new Toronto spot, is cook. I want to explore the kitchen, stock the fridge, and unpack my cookbooks. Not Without Salt has given me ample inspiration for recipes to try in my new kitchen.  The bacon caramelsFrench baguettes and fennel pollen shortbread not only have me salivating, but the photography is almost enough to distract me form my cooking dreams. The creator, Ashley Rodriguez, is a chef, author and photographer extraordinaire.  I just wish I could embed pictures!

My amazing, fashionable friend Britt introduced me to the most epic time waster of all time. We Heart It is a crowd sourcing website that allows incredible young photographers and graphic designers upload their creations, and lets photography fans, like me, create their own albums. What I see makes me smile, and with winter fast-approaching, I’ve been trolling the site to  find pretty pictures. Maybe I’ll frame some over Christmas …

A bed fit for a dream from Urban Outfitters.

Dresses to die for from Banana Republic.

With Christmas coming up, I’ve been searching my online repertoires to find the perfect gifts for the people in my life … and maybe looking a little for my own Santa’s list too. Banana Republic, J. Crew and Urban Outfitters have deep online  catalogues that always manage to woo me away from my homework. Even pictures of fashionable people, like from The Sartorialist or Toronto’s very own Blog T.O has a great Street Style section, provide inspiration for what I plan on looking like (or imagine myself to look like) at upcoming holiday parties.

So there you go, a few of my favourite things – online of course. What are a few of your favourite things?


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

